The MaddAddam Trilogy by Margaret Atwood

Yes, another dystopian novel (trilogy) by the intelligent and tricksy Margaret Atwood. The three books, in order, are Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and MaddAddam. I read good reviews about it, and bad reviews about it, and lukewarm reviews about it, but in the end all that matters is that I enjoyed it tremendously. The author managed to weave in an impressive number of elements that are familiar to this day and age, so that you’d stumble across something and go “I’ve seen that!” or “That’s not too different from this; I wonder if they’ll actually be able to do that in the future!” Of course, given that this is Atwood, the book did not go without the obligatory political-ish commentary about corporations, and the never-ending propensity of Man to choose the evil route. None of this is especially different from other apocalypse stories, at least in message, but the way she did the message I found to be interesting and very worth the time to read. I truly did enjoy all three books enormously. Atwood excels at world-building and making things believable even as you wince and wish it weren’t quite so believable.

I need to take a class in writing book reviews.


Permanent link to this article:


    • Shire on October 25, 2014 at 11:41 pm
    • Reply

    So I’m a slow reader who has to spend most of her time reading articles and books about sexuality education, and critical literacy and social theory, but that said I’ve just started this trilogy and although I’m only about 30 pages in, I’m rather enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.